Chicken Coop Design

B-Guy

Recycles dryer sheets
I’m just getting started building a walk-in 8X10’ chicken coop with some room for storage. Currently we have a very small one that isn’t anywhere big enough. My question is what design thoughts do you have as far as layout? Things you think must be included, and the nice to haves’ options. What has worked well for you as well as ones that didn't workout as planned?

You may want to consider wheels, you can move and fertilize different areas.

What are you doing for flooring? I had a bad experience with rats tunneling in from outside and into the coop area. All I had was an earthen floor where the birds were and the rats were impossible to remove. Eventually gave up and gave the chickens away.

Nice to have easy clean out , that was always not a fun job. I agree some storage is nice although tight fitting metal trash cans for feed and cracked corn worked well. Are you in a cold area where water warmers are necessary, thus electricity would be needed.

I'm assuming you are not in bear territory because that's a whole separate discussion.

We have a pretty big chicken coop that was already on the property when we moved here. It was built with a poured foundation, but about half of the floor area (one end) is dirt. We have their roost and their water over the dirt floor and it stays much less stinky than when it was over the concrete. But the concrete is nice to have for the feed bins (plastic trash cans with locking lids), and the nest box to sit on.

Critters do get in and eat some of the food but they don't bore into the feed bins. Apparently there's enough spilled feed and accessible feed in the feeders to satisfy them.

We also have chicken tractors which we use in the summer. We consider the birds to be "indentured servants" - they till and fertlize the ground in exchange for food, water, and a place to sleep. Plus protection from the hawks and the nightime predators.