Ambition and ER

Katsmeow

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I found this article about Ambition with an Early Retirement slant very interesting

https://www.washingtonpost.com/opin...b62cd0-71df-11e5-8248-98e0f5a2e830_story.html

Basically advocates for not having ambition. Author was a journalist who said he followed the rule of one wife, one house and thinks the benefits of ambition are overstated.

Thought it was an interesting article. I was probably a bit more ambitious than he was. But, his view reminds me a lot of my husband who worked over 30 years for the same company and happily retired at 62.

no sure what to say to this. When I was growing up people noted that I seemed to always be working to something... but slept through school... shocked many when I RE @53. I worked way too many hours for a wage.
not sure where you are going with this thread

I'm not ambitious, and I'm totally fine with it. I work in IT, and moved into management in my 20s. After 7+ years, I couldn't wait to get back to coding full-time. Any ambition I'd had as a young guy had been beaten out of me by endless meetings and BS by then.

I've been back in a technical role for about 8 years, and I love it. My bosses periodically talk about moving me into architect or similar roles, and I politely decline. I've told them that I don't care about titles or advancement, I just want to do interesting work that helps the bottom line.

I do draw a distinction between being ambitious and being a hard worker. I consider myself a hard worker, and fairly regularly work OT in support of deadlines.

I will say that I find it annoying when some of my peers assume that if you're in your mid-40's and still writing code, that it's because you couldn't hack anything more than that. I was plenty capable in those roles, I just didn't enjoy it. It's nice to not be handcuffed by the management salary/bonuses, and generally enjoy my work while I count the months until I can FIRE.